Did you have a strict parent? If so, let us see if they were as bad as these?

Reddit, the place where wonderful questions can be composed by people. This thred was thought provoking. We get these ideas from the daily mail who cite them in an article. In a new thread posted to Reddit on Tuesday, the children of strict parents were asked: ‘What was the craziest rule or punishment you had to deal with? and some of the responses are simply extraordinary. Some of these truly are insane.
“My parents once grounded me for 2 years for getting a B on my report card,” recalled one user. “Took everything out of my room besides the bed, and I wasn’t allowed to do anything with friends.
“A year and a half into it I asked if I could be un-grounded, and at that point they had actually forgotten what they grounded me for, but refused because: “I must have done something bad if they grounded me.
The same user claimed that his/her parents “refused to let me stay up past 8pm. Even in high school. Another user had straws band from the house.
“My dad wouldn’t let me use straws because he said it could cut through my tongue or cheek like a hole punch,” said one user.
Some parents were so strict that facts didn’t matter. My child didn’t do this but they will be punished anyway.
“My brother and I were grounded from watching TV for a year because a friend had “left our shed messy,” one wrote.
The same user revealed that he/she wasn’t allowed to cross the street until the age of 13 – though luckily the family lived in a cul-de-sac.
The most disterbing case on the thred is the one where a child couldn’t use public restrooms because the parents were so scared of sti’s and creepers.
“I quite honestly had accidents when I was far too old to do so because my parents had my teachers reporting bathroom use to them too. There was no place I could safely use the restroom other than home without getting into trouble. Some cases were odd.
“My mom grounded me from electricity when I got suspended and bought and oil lamp for me to use when doing homework in my room,” the user explained. Spelling was used as a tool to know when to use a word or not.
One grandmother thought she was so clever when she said “I should never call someone a name that I couldn’t spell.
Soon enough, the user “realized that I DID know how to spell “dumb,” so that word must be permitted. I spent the rest of the day over-using the word ‘dumb’ and she wasn’t quite sure what to do at that point. Logic strikes again!
This one was odd and it involved food.
“We could not talk about anything at all. No small/idle chat was allowed. First time you did it, you got yelled at. Second time was a whooping and then sent to your room, until the next day, without the rest of your meal,” the user wrote. “I make it a point now with my kids, to chat up a storm each and every meal.

Leave a Reply

