A look at my school life

When I think of my life and my time at school, I find myself in a wonderful frame of mind. My education was not negative because I had teachers who were just like me. My braille teacher was also blind, and her calm guiding hand helped me make it through elementary and middle school. I had a teacher who could read braille and who cared about my literacy. While my other teachers cared, it seemed like an afterthought to some when it came to the question of conversion. It took six weeks to get files converted and teachers don’t want to plan out that far it seemed.
It was what it was back then. Thankfully most were not like one teacher.
I had one teacher who refused to show up to my Individualized Education Program (IEP) planning meetings because she couldn’t be inspired to do so. This was the same teacher who put me in the corner and taught the rest of the class and had me sit their quietly.
So, in honor of this teacher I share with you a poem. I am putting her on blast. ___
Hey teacher why don’t you care?
Don’t tell me that you care about all students.
With me you didn’t.
Hey teacher why don’t you care?
You would put me into the corner and instruct the rest of the class. I was less than.
I was not noteworthy.
Hey teacher why don’t you care?
Hey teacher why don’t you care?
You wouldn’t attend my IEP meetings. Your time was far more important teaching the majority rather than giving a crap about the minority.
Hey teacher why don’t you care?
Hey teacher why don’t you care?
I have some good news for you teacher
seeing how you don’t care about me as a person.
I don’t consider you worthy enough
to say your name.
Hey teacher why don’t you care? You know what, it doesn’t matter. I don’t care about you either. I have real friends and real cool teachers. They care about me
they want me to become a success.

Leave a Reply

