editorial. changing the idea of the blog just a bit.

Changing a brand isn’t something to take lightly. I consider all my readers fellow members to this brand of mine. It was not until I read a discussion on the future of literary magazines and where they have come from that I thought to myself why not make some changes to my blog? After all, the tagline is “your best source to see how my training is going plus cool hollywood stories.” I have not covered many of those stories from hollywood and I have not been writing about how my training is going. So, I feel that I must change the blog a bit. These are the things I would like to have done before the end of the year.
1. Get an about me page up. I was on the website of the North American Review < http://www.northamericanreview.org/ > and the first link I hit was the “about” page. When I hit my own about page it um well sucks. “This is an example of a page. Unlike posts, which are displayed on your blog’s front page in the order they’re published, pages are better suited for more timeless content that you want to be easily accessible, like your About or Contact information. Click the Edit link to make changes to this page or add another page.”
Compare that about me page to this one from the North American Review: http://www.northamericanreview.org/about/ That doesn’t tell you anything about me or my blogs mission. 2. get a contact me page.
I want to have a contact me page so you could either email me gripes or story ideas. Yes comments are a great way to contact me also. However, speaking of comments leads me to number three.
3. get better at approving comments. I have failed to approve comments as effectively as I would like. I wish WordPress had a setting where it would approve all comments that aren’t blocked by the spam service. Manually approving comments using a screen reader seems kind of hard, if you have 119 to deal with. I have 119 that I have not dealt with yet I wish their was a bulk thing I could do to approve them all. I love all feedback.
4. Adding more freewrites and fun writes. I plan on writing more poems and other freewrites. I do not know what those could be but they could be anything.
5. This is the largest change. I want your work. Again, I read a literary magazine and they share work from those who may not be main streamed. They want to be published someday. I am looking for those writers who already have a blog here on wordpress or those scholars who want to be contributors to my blog. Share your work I don’t care what it is. Read more: < https://tylershepard1991.wordpress.com/2017/01/10/an-ambitious-id ea/
If I share your work and either get you more viewers for your blog or start a conversation that would be fantastic! I do not want payment.

Leave a Reply

